Stages of Alzheimer's

 According to the Alzheimer's Association, Alzheimer's disease typically progresses slowly in three general stages - mild (early-stage), moderate (middle-stage), and severe (late-stage).  To learn more about the symptoms and considerations of each, please visit the Alzheimer's Association website.

stages of alzheimers depiction

Mild Alzheimer's disease is the early stage of the disease.  A person may function independently.  He or she may still drive, work and be part of social activities.  Common difficulties include:

  • Problems coming up with the right word or name
  • Trouble remembering names when introduced to new people
  • Having greater difficulty performing tasks in social or work settings
  • Forgetting material that one has just read
  • Losing or misplacing a valuable object
  • Increasing trouble with planning or organizing

Moderate Alzheimer's is typically the longest stage and can last for many years.  As the disease progress, the person with Alzheimer's will require a greater level of care.  At this point, symptoms will be noticeable to others and may include:

  • Forgetfulness of events or about one's own personal history
  • Feeling moody or withdrawn, especially in socially or mentally challenging situations
  • Being unable to recall their own address or telephone number or the high school or college from which they graduated
  • Confusion about where they are or what day it is

In the final stage of this disease, individuals lose the ability to respond to their environment, to carry on a conversation and, eventually, to control movement.  At this stage, individuals may:

  • Require full-time, around-the-clock assistance with daily personal care
  • Lose awareness of recent experiences as well as their surroundings
  • Require high levels of assistance with daily activities and personal care





Go Back


Helpful Links